RED JASPER Anagramary

£12.99 (GBP)
RED JASPER Anagramary


1. Perfect Symmetry
2. Babylon Rising
3. In Her Eyes
4. In The Name Of The Empire
5. Flag
6. Island Of The Mighty
7. People Of The Hills
8. Through The Dawn
9. Waterfalls (Rhaeadreau)
10. Pull That Thumb (off the top of your head) 94







Having formed in 1987 RED JASPER release over the next decade four ground breaking progressive rock albums. In 1996 the band recorded what was to be their last ever album “Anagramary” which was released in 1997.

Shortly after due to “musical differences” the band split and their lasting legacy of five progressive rock albums have now finally all been reissued by Angel Air.

MOTORHEAD meets JETHRO TULL – RED JASPER a truly English band.


Reviews's Robin Harrison's soaring guitar that lifts opener "Perfect Symmetry" from the '80s-indebted sonic boom and pours magic in Celtic-tinctured instrumental "Waterfalls (Rhaeadreau)", and it's drummer David Clifford, who later on entered the musicals scene, that delivers the album's tremulous ballads, "Through The Dawn" and "In Her Eyes" with their classical piano line and acoustic lace that SCORPIONS would kill for.

DME Music Site

A few albums later (also now available on Angel Air) and 1996 saw the band record Anagramary, which would be the band's last (the label folding, outside business interests). It continues in a similar (very English) vein, with opener Perfect Symmetry a hint of power metal over an earthy Celtic Marillion feel. Babylon as a much more modern progressive feel, building from the acoustic intro. In Her Eyes re-explores the folk prog side. Some good tracks, work exploring. And it comes with a bonus track too.

Joe Geesin - Get Ready to ROCK!

...the tragedy is that it was released with little fanfare and the band called it a day soon afterwards. It is well worth checking out, especially as the band are now reforming and will be playing tracks from it live for the first time.

Classic Rock Society (September 2012)

Almost completely gone are the brash punky overtones...this is an album teetering on the brink of standard 'neo-prog'...

Fireworks magazine (October 2012)



Leave a Comment/Review