McCOY – Unreal The Anthology

£14.99 (GBP)
McCoy - Unreal The Anthology


1. Walking Strong – WELCOME
2. Karrola – ZZEBRA
3. 1953 Austin Somerset – QUADRANT
4. Calling Out Your Name – The COOLIES
5. Big Boss Man – McCOY
6. Not As Easy As It Seems – SAMSON
7. Texas Modern – NEO
8. Don’t Be A Dummy – JOHN Du CANN
9. Getting It Upside Down – V.H.F.
10. Tomorrow Or Yesterday – SAMSON
11. No Easy Way (alternative version) – GILLAN
12. No Laughing In Heaven (alternative version) – GILLAN
13. Restless (alternative version) – GILLAN
14. M.A.D. (Mutually Assured Destruction) (alternative version) – GILLAN
1. Play It Again – ATOMIC ROOSTER
2. The Russians Are Coming – JOINT FORCES
4. Because You Lied – McCOY
5. Free Mind – McCOY
6. Temporary Threshold Shift – McCOY
7. The Demon Rose – McCOY
8. Fatman – MAMMOTH
9. All The Days – MAMMOTH
10. On And On – McCOY
11. Josephine – McCOY
12. I Know A Place – SUN RED SUN
13. I Don’t Want To Be Responsible – SUN RED SUN
14. Mean Woman Blues – PAUL SAMSON
15. Cannonball – GMT
16. Shaving Cream – THE SPLIT KNEE LOONS

Eccentric, elusive, multi talented, unique, unmistakable physically and musically.

JOHN McCOY is a gem of British Rock History who’s still rocking as hard as ever! At first glance this double album could be mistaken for a Rock Compilation with the long list of rock luminaries listed. It is in fact a long overdue tribute to the man who has not only influenced and inspired a whole generation of bass players, and seemingly a whole plethora of shaved heads and goatee beards (!) but has done so much more.

With in depth notes from McCoy himself and many unseen photographs this double album still only scratches the surface! Closer examination will reveal a fascinating insight into the long career of mega rock acts John McCoy’s been involved with and throw up a few surprises too.

GILLAN, MAMMOTH, SAMSON, ZZEBRA, ATOMIC ROOSTER, SUN RED SUN, G.M.T. etc etc, are just the tip of this collection, suitably released to commemorate 10 years of Angel Air Records from their first release ‘Think Hard Again’ by McCOY (SJPCD001) back in 1997.


With tracks pulled from McCoy's own archives, the back shelves, his solo album, and bringing it back up to date with his latest project, a number from GMT, this anthology is one hell of a ride...

All Music (March 2007)

The one thing tying all these tracks together is John McCoy's distinctive bass sound, which is almost as heavy and imposing as the man himself. As always with Angel Air releases, there's a very informative booklet, with liner notes by John McCoy himself...A fine overview of the big man's career.

Metal Nose (February 2007)

...behind the power, heavy bass, and shaven head, is McCoy's sense of humour

Joe Geesin, Record Collector (April 2007)

Giant bassist's career highs with Gillan, Samson etc...This two-disc retrospective covers his entire career, from obscure late-60s pop acts to his current power trio GMT...

Classic Rock (April 2007)

This two-disc retrospective covers his entire career, from obscure late-60s pop acts to his current power trio GMT...Inevitably, it’s the Gillan songs that really shine...

Paul Elliott, Classic Rock (April 2007)

The 30 compositions that the anthology's comprised of can be enjoyed at their face value, and that would be rather eclectic mix of styles, but adjust the low frequencies of your player for the puzzle fragments to fall in their places. Still, even in the entire mosaic the gems like ZZEBRA's "Karrola", a high-octane fusion which could give McLaughlin a run for his money in 1973, will shine hanging on McCoy's bass runs.

Dmitry M. Epstein, (May 2007)

This presentation not only brings us almost more than half of the projects in which John McCoy has been involved, but also embodies much of the metal in English history over four decades, on a single disc.

El Portal del METAL



Leave a Comment/Review