£14.99 (GBP)


CD – Disc 1
‘Hold The Fire’
1. Isn’t That The Guy
2. Lupe And Joe
3. Hold The Fire
4. Love Words
5. Amalgamation Man
6. Sweet Cherry Wine
7. It Keeps On Goin’
8. Angels And Strangers
9. Give It All
10. Ordinary Girl
11. Amy
12. I Just Wanna’ Play The Music
13. I Think Were Alone Now (live)
DVD – Disc 2
‘Best Of-Live at The Bitter End’
1. Dragging The Line
2. Crystal Blue Persuasion
3. Say I am
4. Sugar On Sunday
5. Getting’ Together
6. Tighter And Tighter
7. Crimson And Clover
8. Hanky Panky
9. I Think Were Alone Now
10. Mony Mony
11. Sweet Cherry Wine
12. Mirage
13. Mony Mony (reprise)
Individual Song Commentary
Full Length Interviews

TOMMY JAMES has sold in excess of 100 million records over the years and is currently working on both a Broadway show for 2011 and a major motion picture planned for 2012 based upon his critically acclaimed book just published “Me, The Mob, and the Music”.

He enjoyed two number 1 singles in the USA with “Hanky Panky” (1966) and “Crimson And Clover” (1969) with a number 1 single in UK with “Mony Mony” (1968).During the 80’s and 90’s Tommy’s songbook resulted in a number of major hits including back to back No 1’s in USA with Tiffany’s “I Think Were Alone Now” and Billy Idol’s “Mony Mony”.

The DVD element of this release was filmed in 2000 at The Bitter, End, Greenwich and is coupled with his 2006 album “Hold The Fire”. In 2006 Tommy James & The Shondells were inducted into the Rock’n’Roll Legends Hall of Fame.


If there's a certain air of nostalgia about the '60s, some of the artists from that era can blow it to pieces and rip it up on stage. And that's exactly what the former SHONDELLS did with his new band in 1995 when he crossed the States to a city he loves dearly and played a one-night-only gig at one of the NYY's premiere clubs. The veteran builds an excitement and engagement with the soulful mid-tempo groove of "Draggin' The Line" only to shed the glitz some minutes later with a calypso-tickled "Say I Am (What I Am)" that, for all its easy roll, pounds quite heavily. There's a coherent flow from "Sugar On Sunday" into "Gettin' Together", both too sweet, yet prompting the punters to clap, which is all a fan and an artist alike need, and a non-stop emotional exchange is preserved so well on this swirl of a record. The more it spins, the higher one's spirit kicks.
Here Mr. James and company obviously played out of pure passion and love...creating an unforgettable experience for everyone involved...hopefully one day Tommy will be recognised as one of the greatest pop singer/songwriters of all time...because he truly is. babysue
Much of this album is of the easier going variety, but great songs are great songs and I have to say that this is a disc that not only do I enjoy, but one that my whole family from my daughters to my in-laws enjoy, showing that truly great song writing is timeless - a word that describes much of the songs and performances on this excellent live album. Fireworks magazine
The good people as Angel Air have released a string of interesting Tommy James re-issues during the past few months, but this infectious live set is far and away the most appealing offering that they've been involved with to date. Kevin Bryan (Hucknall Dispatch, Kidderminster Shuttle)
Threatening on paper to capture less of a career-defining moment and more like the sounds of barrels being scraped, it proves testimonial to a timeless tunesmith once Tommy James gets onstage...As rendered by the maturing man himself at NY's intimate Bitter End, the '60s pop standards and psychedelic cuts make the audience scream like schoolgirls despite the years, and make obvious what inspired so many later greats. vivelerock



Leave a Comment/Review