THE KORGIS – The Kollection

£12.99 (GBP)
THE KORGIS - The Kollection


1. If I Had You
2. Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime
3. It All Comes Down To You
4. One Life
5. Who Are These Tears For
6. Find Yourself Another Fool
7. That’s What Friends Are For
8. This World’s For Everyone
9. Hold On
10. I Wonder What Became Of You
11. Work Together
12. Come To Me
13. All The Love In The World
14. Wish You Merry Xmas
15. Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (DNA Mix 93)
16. It Won’t Be The Same Old Place
17. Lines
18. Boots And Shoes
19. Make A Fuss About Us













The KORGIS recorded their first album in 1979 which included the Hit single “If I Had You” (Number 13 UK). In 1980 they scored their biggest worldwide single Hit “Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime” (Number 5 UK) which has since been covered by a number of artists including Yazz, Baby D, Marc et Claude and more recently Erasure.

In the early 90’s the band teamed up with DNA for a dance version of “Everybody’s” which charted also.

“The Kollection” is the band’s own package which includes the hit singles, some brand new material and some interesting previously unreleased bonus rarities.



Released with the full approval of the band, this hand-picked 'best of' rarely flags...

Music Week, 23.04.05

The Korgis had a brief chart success between 1979 and 1980 with two UK hit singles, ‘If I Had You’ and ‘Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime’ – both included on here. Both of these are certifiable pop classics with their lush arrangements and melodious vocals (the nearest comparison to the Korgis sound would be fellow Brits Sad Café). The band did a dance style version of ‘Everybody…’ with DNA in 1993 but this failed to chart (again it is here on this collection).

Only one slight drawback is that a few numbers tend to merge into one another sound wise but at 19 tracks you are sure to find something to enjoy.

This collection has the added bonus for fans of some newly recorded tracks, which carry on the bands core sound of gentle melodies plus extensive sleeve notes. There are some demos dating back from 1978 that have aged remarkably well.

An enjoyable collection from a band who certainly deserve more credit and exposure than they got. One for fans of well crafted and timeless pop melodies.***1/2

Jason Ritchie, (April 2005)

...we get a significant portion of their latest release, 1992’s This World’s for Everyone (recorded after reforming as a trio), including a version of their hit "Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime." There is also a bunch of new songs, recorded in the current millennium.

Avi Shaked, (May 2005)

...there are some lovely melodies floating around in there...

Record Collector (July 2005)

...includes five songs from a recording session that the band conducted in 2003...

Feedback (August 2005)

...carefully crafted brand of highly melodic pop-rock was all the rage for a few years during the late seventies and early eighties...

Kevin Bryan, Belfast Telegraph



Leave a Comment/Review