STACKRIDGE – Something For The Weekend

£12.99 (GBP)
Stackridge - Something For The Weekend


1. It’s A Fascinating World
2. Ruth, Did You Read My Mind?
3. Something About The Beatles
4. Help Under Doors
5. The Vegans Hatred Of Fish
6. Sliding Down The Razorblade Of Love
7. The Youth Of Today
8. Faith In Love
9. Five Poster Bedlam
10. Wilderbeeste
11. Grooving Along the Highway
12. Someday They’ll Find Out
13. Drinking And Driving
14. It Must Be Time For Bed
15. Sliding Down The Razorblade Of Love (alternate version)
16. Ropes Of Pearls
17. Sad Romantic
18. No Love In Her Heart












The history books suggest that West Country wonders STACKRIDGE ceased operations after a gig at Yeovil Town Hall in 1976 but ‘Something For The Weekend’ offers irrefutable evidence that this isn’t the case – not by a long chalk.

Recorded in 1997 and produced by their long term collaborator DAVID LORD this album which received rave reviews in the UK music press with MOJO dubbing ‘Something About The Beatles’ as ‘the MOJO readers anthem’ and Q commented on some ‘surprisingly potent pop’ is remastered with bonus tracks.
The weekend starts here!



Gorgeous tunes, skilfully played with just the right amount of light and shade, and recorded with evident love and care, rendered one of the band's best.

With the oxygen of Angel Air, this reissue, with bonus unreleased demos, should fly further than before. And justifiably so.

Peter Muir, (May 2007)

...lyrically Stackridge remained just as eccentric as ever

Kevin Bryan, Hartlepool Mail (May 2007)'s absolutely flipping, flapping, flupping brilliant. What a stunner of a selection of songs...this is on a level with Rubber Soul and Sgt. Peppers.

Geoff Smiles, Classic Rock Society (July 2007)

Deeply melodic, strikingly hook-laden, Something For The Weekend is classic Stackridge, updated for the modern era, and so much more adventurous than most 70s reunions could even dream of proving. Maybe they should try again?

Jo-Ann Greene, Goldmine (June 2007)



Leave a Comment/Review