RUPERTS PEOPLE 45 RPM’ – 45 Years of Ruperts People Music

£12.99 (GBP)
RUPERTS PEOPLE 45 RPM' - 45 Years of Ruperts People Music


1. All So Long Ago – The Sweet Feeling . Rec: 1966
2. Dream In My Mind – Ruperts People Rec: 1967
3. I Can Show You – Ruperts People :Rec 1967
4. Hold On – Ruperts People: Rec 1966
5. Prologue To A Magic World -
Ruperts People Rec: 1967
6. Charles Brown – Ruperts People Rec: 1966
7. Reflections Of Charles Brown -
Ruperts People Rec: 1966
8. Rain – Ruperts People live. Rec: 1992
9. My Mind’s Eye – Ruperts People live. Rec: 1992
10. Flying High – Ruperts People . Rec: 1967
11. You Can’t Always Get What You Want -
Ruperts People live. Rec: 1969
12. Reflecting – Ruperts People live. Rec: 1969
13. Suzanne Matchbox Rec: 1970
14. Don’t Shut Me Out – Matchbox Rec: 1971
15. Miss America – Swampfox Rec: 1972
16. I’ve Got A Thing About You Baby -
Swampfox . Rec: 1972
17. Summer Rain – Rod Lynton . Rec: 1971
18. River Lady – Swampfox . Rec: 1972












RUPERTS PEOPLE sprang into confusing existence in 1967 although the seed was actually sown in 1964 when ROD LYNTON teamed up with STEVE BRENDALL in an early group called The EXTRAVERTS

Released in 1967 “Reflections Of Charles Brown” was credited to a band that didn’t exist, and was itself a re-arrangement of a flipside issued only weeks before by a group who would eventually adapt the moniker of that non existent group.

This possibly unique situation typifies the confusion and conjecture that has surrounded a group who for decades have been the subject of speculation amongst beat and psychedelic enthusiasts – RUPERTS PEOPLE



...This collection comprises all those beautiful songs and liner notes written by the musicians themselves to set things straight and widen a scope. Perhaps, one could live without the take on THE BEATLES' "Rain" that RUPERTS' notched live during their early '90s reunion, yet their 1969 concert reading of THE STONES' "You Can't Always Get What You Want" shows the ensemble's depth.

...There's a lot to admire on this compilation - that seems to be missing a track mentioned in an extensive essay - yet it's its historic significance that's impossible to overestimate. At last, RUPERT'S PEOPLE have their faces on. ****1/3

DME Music Site

The reputation of Brit Sixties never-weres Rupert's People rests on two things: the stunning 1967 single "Reflections of Charles Brown", a "Whiter Shade of Pale" sound-alike, and "Hold On", a scorching slice of guitar-driven frenzy.

They only released three singles in 1967-68. Before they became Rupert's People, they traded as The Sweet Feeling and issued one single under that name in 1966. So that's eight tracks. Not much basis for a CD.

This 18-tracker broadens things by including a bunch of material by band-member Rod Lynton's post-Rupert's adventures 1970-72 and a couple of live reunion cuts from either 1992 or '94 (both dates are given). One Sweet Feeling track is credited to Rupert's People, and one Rupert's People B-side is missing.

The instrumental "Flying High" seems to be a vintage-era backing track. 45 RPM is a rag-bag bulked with filler, but the real Sixties stuff is essential and great: mods-gone-freaky, with touches of Small Faces and Hendrix. Stick with the first seven tracks.

Kieron Tyler

The Lynton/Gordon Haskell co-write Hold On is one of the most storming 60s club killers of its ilk, with a Hammond part that could melt time. Herein, you'll also find mushily phased pop-psych gold dust (I Can Show You) plus some attractively Badfingeresque ballast from offshoot bands Matchbox and Swampfox.

Record Collector (August 2012)

This collection also features some of their live re-recordings, boasting a great Hammond/psych guitar-driven 'You Can't Always Get What You Want' and a Marriottesque vocal on The Small Faces 'My Mind's Eye'.

Shindig magazine (October 2012)



Leave a Comment/Review