MOTT THE HOOPLE – Two Miles From Heaven

£12.99 (GBP)
Mott The Hoople - Two Miles From Heaven


1. You Really Got Me
2. The Road To Birmingham
3. Thunderback Ram
4. Going Home
5. Little Christine
6. Keep ‘A’ Knockin
7. Black Hills
8. Movin’ On
9. Ride On the Sun
10. Growin’ Man Blues
11. Until I’m Gone
12. One Of The Boys
13. Surfin UK
14. Black Scorpio
15. (There’s an) Ill Wind Blowing
16. The Debt
17. Downtown












During 1980 DALE GRIFFIN started to pester Island Records to consider releasing a new MOTT THE HOOPLE compilation album of really rare material. Having got the “green light” from the powers that be Dale set about his task with enthusiasm and thoroughness that he is renowned for and quickly moved to an 8 track recording studio near Reading, England where he researched early MTH recordings. His colleagues from BRITISH LIONS and  MOTT helped out (RAY MAJORS and MORGAN FISHER) as well as long time friend and MTH colleague OVEREND WATTS who lent a hand wherever and whenever he could.

Amongst the rarities that he unearthed were 1969 gem “The Road To Birmingham”, “Keep ‘A’ Knockin” (studio version), “Ride On the Sun” from 1972 as well as 12 other rare unreleased tracks “Two Miles From Heaven” is released on CD for the first time ever and is much sought after by MTH fans throughout the world. Dale has written the CD notes with informative comments song by song.



What an absolute peach this collection is. Unreleased tracks, rare b-sides and early versions of songs that would be recorded later on...this album has long been sought after by fans, and is now at long last available on CD

...As always with Angel Air, packaging is excellent with excellent and informative sleeve notes by Dale Griffin...

Sound quality throughout is excellent (a lot better than the original LP).

Adrian Perkins(Nov 2003)

...a compilation of rare out-takes and alternate mixes...Seventeen tracks in toal...'Thunderbuck Ram' has the original Allen solo organ arrangement rightly mixed back up in all its full glory...

Mark, Losing Today,

...Dale Griffin has unearthed recordings that should please the MTH fans.

Alistair Flynn, Classic Rock Society, (January 2004)

...a 17-track collection of unreleased songs, out-takes, oddities and several early, wilder versions of stuff from the Dudes album...

Nick Dalton, Record Collector, (January 2004)

With lots of comments by MOTT-Drummer Buffin (Dale Griffin) in the booklet it is a very interesting disc...I admit I was very sceptic about these "Demos", but I am surprised in a very pleasant way - a fantastic album!

Epi Schmidt, (January 2004)

Excellent and exhaustive liner notes provide fascinating historical data, while each beautifully remastered disc avoids overkill by only adding a couple of well-chosen bonus tracks...Ultimately, none are expendable

Bernard Perusse, The Gazette (France), (December 2003)

...the compilation has much to recommend it, including a stunningly revamped 'Thunderbuck Ram' worth the price of this CD alone.

Free Appreciation Society (January 2004)

All of these songs were from 1969-1972, and here there has been an opportunity for Dale to provide lots of information about each song and the reason for its appearance or non-appearance...

Feedback (March 2004) assortment of out-takes and rarities...and is well worth investigating...

Kevin Bryan (March 2004)



Leave a Comment/Review