LOU REED & KRIS KRISTOFFERSON The Bottom Line Archive Series

£14.99 (GBP)
LOU REED & KRIS KRISTOFFERSON The Bottom Line Archive Series


CD 1
1. Introduction
2. Vin Scelsa Introduces Lou Reed
3. Betrayed
4. VS Introduces Kris Kristofferson
5. Shipwrecked
6. LR on Songwriting
7. Legendary Hearts
8. KK on His Childhood & Songwriting
9. Sunday Morning Coming Down/The Pilgrim
10. LR on New York
11. Strawman
12. KK talks about “Strawman”
13. Sam’s Song
14. LR on Writing for Wim Wenders
15. Why Can’t I Be Good
16. LR on Autobiographical Songs
CD 2
1. KK on Nashville
2. Help Me Make It Through The Night
3. LR on Velvet Underground & Warhol
4. Sweet Jane
5. KK on Writing
6. To Beat The Devil
7. LR on Writing Prose
8. Romeo Had Juliet
9. Burden of Freedom
10. KK on “Me and Bobby McGee”
11. Me and Bobby McGee
12. KK on “Bird On A Wire”
13. Bird On A Wire
14. Tracks of My Tears


We bring you another historic, once-in-a-lifetime meeting taking place during the winter of ’94 on that venerable Bottom Line stage. Culled from an evening that also included Suzanne Vega and Victoria Williams, there was perhaps no other pairing more perfectly suited to the In Their Own Words platform than this singular meeting of Lou Reed and Kris Kristofferson.

The two songsmiths in question were born and raised in two very different worlds – Lou Reed in the jungles of New York City and Kris Kristofferson in the heart of the Southland.

Still, both men demanded total artistic freedom and created raw, brutally honest art that addressed strikingly similar issues of struggles – with loneliness and alienation, addiction and recovery, love and loss, good and evil, vulnerability and hopelessness – painfully aware of contradictions and critical of hypocrisy, painting pictures of characters known or imagined, yet always finding the humanity in our faults and weaknesses during our darkest hours.

Through the lens of their music, Lou and Kris view the human condition with a sense of humility and no small amount of humor, which was always close at hand.



Leave a Comment/Review