HARD STUFF Bulletproof

£12.99 (GBP)
HARD STUFF Bulletproof


1. Jay Time
2. Sinister Minister
3. No Witch At All
4. Taken Alive
5. Time Gambler
6. Millionaire
7. Monster In Paradise
8. Hobo
9. Mr Longevity-RIP
10. The Provider-Part One
11. Jay Time (single version)
12. The Orchestrator









HARD STUFF was a hard rock band formed by JOHN DU CANN and Paul Hammond from ATOMIC ROOSTER with JOHN GUSTAFSON from QUATERMASS. Signed to Purple records in 1971 initially as BULLET (they had to change their name in early 1972 to HARD STUFF as there was then already in existence an American group called Bullet) Hence the name of their very first album “Bulletproof” released in June 1972

The band toured heavily across Europe (particularly Germany), often as support to DEEP PURPLE and URIAH HEEP. Their career though was curtailed by a bad car accident returning from a gig at The Zoom Club, Frankfurt in which Du Cann and Hammond were badly injured and they spent weeks in hospital in Belgium torpedoing their plans to record the much anticipated second album.

“Bulletproof” is a classic album now much sought after-remastered with bonus tracks on Angel Air.



There are great tracks on this album, for instance opener 'Jay Time' with its infectious funk beat. 'Sinister Minister' is much more of a straight affair, with a considerably harder feel to it yet a chorus that's nicely smoothed 'round the edges.

'No Witch At All' kicks off with a restrained percussion beat and a cutting riff sound before the witch is unleashed in all its edginess. 'Taken Alive' has a real nice groove to it and the first few chords remind of Credence Clearwater, in fact, most of the track does. Really great number, that one!

Things are back in hard rock terrain with 'Time Gambler' and snarling riff work. 'Millionaire' is another scorcher that also makes for a great dance track (as does 'Taken Alive'); it gets speedier as the song progresses, with in-your-face guitar solos and a fierce drum beat. Perfect for a bit of head-banging!

Music-News.com (November 2011)

There's a helluva riffs to get spiked on with a heavy accent on funk. This vibe drives the opener "Jay Time", where the rhythm section creates a vibrating platform for theatrically demented wails, both vocal and stringed, and "Millionaire" that, together with "No Witch At All" which sees two Johns harmonize, should have been a huge concert attraction thanks to the tight but loose interplay lurching into solos.

Humorous, all its deceptive blackness notwithstanding, "Bulletproof" still sounds strong - and finally, clear; sadly, with HARD STUFF's second album, these were the last recordings that John Du Cann oversaw a remastering of before his 2011's passing.

DME Music Site (November 2011)

Well, by the time I finished listening by jeans had widened by four inches at my feet and it is easy to get carried away by the happy-go-lucky 70's feeling. I bet they saved my day somehow. John DuCann will no doubt be a great loss for British rock.

FESTIVALPHOTO (November 2011)

'Bulletproof' finds Hard Stuff taking a harder edged, yet bluesy tinged style and wringing it through the power trio mill to quite excellent effect...In fact as debut albums go 'Bulletproof' is so impressive that I have no idea why I haven't heard much more about Hard Stuff long before now.

Fireworks Magazine (January/February 2012)

Bulletproof is a pretty good example of 70's hard rock, but it does sound dated now.

Classic Rock Society (January/February 2012)

Du Cann really lets rip on the Bulletproof album with plenty of guitar solos and crunching riffs in the vein of Uriah Heep, Grand Funk and of course Atomic Rooster. The absence of Vincent Crane's Hammond makes for a harder-edged sound and there are a number of stand out cuts including "No Witch At All", "Sinister Minister" and the fiery "Millionaire".

Sea of Tranquility (December 2011)

...his departure from Atomic Rooster (along with drummer Paul Hammond) saw the duo hook up with former Big Three bassist Jon Gustafson. The result was Hard Stuff, whose 1972 debut - recorded using Hendrix's Marshall stack - is suitably punchy, the propulsive rhythms of 'Jay Time' proof that power trio don't need to rely solely on heaviosity.

Classic Rock magazine

Bulletproof is high-octane, hard rock shot through with self-confidence and ambition. At almost every level, it's a very fine set, helped by the fact the band had a run through this material in a previous incarnation as Bullet.

Torpedoed by a litigious US act of the same, they went back in a recorded it again: the result stands up as one of the most neglected of its day. 'No Witch At All', 'Millionaire' and Bullet's 'Hobo' (dropped in for good measure) are sheer adrenalin-rushes each and every one. This is not music to be driven to. Further welcome bonuses include the single version of album opener 'Jay Time' and B-side 'The Orchestrator'. ****

Review by Peter Muir - Get Ready To Rock



Leave a Comment/Review