GILLAN No Easy Way

£14.99 (GBP)
GILLAN No Easy Way


Disc 1 – CD ‘Live Hammersmith 1980′
1. Second Sight
2. Unchain Your Brain
3. Are You Sure
4. Mr Universe
5. Trouble
6. On The Rocks
7. Running White Face City Boy
8. Vengeance
9. Torment
10. Smoke On The Water
11. Underwater Solo Sonics
12. No Easy Way
13. Thunderwood
14. If You Believe Me
Disc 2 – DVD ‘Live Edinburgh 1980′
1. Unchain Your Brain
2. Trouble
3. If you Believe Me
4. Mutually Assured Destruction (M.A.D.)
5. No Easy Way
6. Vengeance
7. Smoke On The Water*
8. Sleeping On The Job
Interviews with JOHN McCOY, BERNIE
History of Gillan by Joe Geesin


GILLAN enjoyed tremendous commercial success during 1980-this was their year and their single ‘Trouble’ was a Top 20 smash hit. Their album ‘Glory Road’ had entered the UK charts at Number 3 and they had just returned from playing live in USA.

Now released for the first time ever is the live concert performance from The Hammersmith Odeon on 14th October 1980 where the band took the audience by storm

On Disc 2 (DVD) is the concert in Edinburgh the following month which was recorded for Scottish TV where the band once again had the audience eating out of their hands.

Classic Rock from Gillan in their prime in both Sound & Vision.


…a welcome opportunity to recapture the sights and sounds of Gillan the band. Not just a release for Gillan fans only, anyone with a taste for classic Hard Rock should definitely seek this out. (May 2008)

The band, especially guitarist Bernie Torme, was absolutely ferocious; the CD is awesome, but seeing is believing, and the DVD's their crowning glory.

Jo-Ann Greene, Goldmine (June 2008)

The band were operating at the peak of their powers during this period, and the inclusion of some interesting interview footage should help make this two-disc set an essential purchase for discerning hard rock enthusiasts.

Kevin Bryan, Stirling Advertiser (June 2008)

Running through a set list drawn heavily from Glory (Road), albeit with a few Universe numbers thrown in for good measure, the band were on fire. this is Gillan at their mightiest heights.

Jo-Ann Greene, (June 2008)

GILLAN thunders into gear with "Second Sight/Unchain Your Brain". The band was at their height of their career and their internal relations. Ian's voice was up to both singing and screaming, and the audience was euphoric. Most of the songs were culled from the albums "Mr Universe" and "Glory Road". More unusual was the inclusion of "Running White Face City Boy"... (June 2008)

What with the usual material such as Colin Towns' keyboards-driven, vertiginous "Vengeance" or "Mr. Universe", obscure yet fantastic "On The Rocks" and "Are You Sure?" make a rare appearance in the set which more than makes up for inferior quality of the last tracks - recorded by a fan, they make the performance almost complete... Possibly the most charged GILLAN performance of all. ****4/5 (July 2008)

This is another of those brilliant releases from Angel Air that come with a bonus DVD...

Classic Rock Society (August 2008)

Quality wise the footage is pretty decent considering its agae and the source of the material. The audio track sounds good when played loud, it's a pro shot video...

If you're a Gillan fan, this is definitely one to get hold of...

Amplifier, Issue 99



Leave a Comment/Review