COLOSSEUM Reunion Concert Cologne 1994

£14.99 (GBP)
COLOSSEUM Reunion Concert Cologne 1994


Disc 1 – CD
1. Those About To Die
2. Skelington
3. Tanglewood ‘63
4. Rope Ladder To The Moon
5. Stormy Monday Blues
6. Walking In The Park
Disc 2 – DVD (NTSC – all regions)
1. Those About To Die
2. Skelington
3. Elegy
4. Tanglewood ‘63 THE VALENTYNE SUITE
5. January’s Search
6. Februarys Valentyne
7. The Grass Is Always Greener
8. Rope Ladder To The Moon
9. Theme For An Imaginary Western
10. The Machine Demands Another Sacrifice
11. Solo Colonia
12. Lost Angeles
13. Stormy Monday Blues
14. Walking In The Park


On June 24th 1994 COLOSSEUM played their first concert together for 23 years. This release was filmed and recorded some 4 months later at the bands second concert that year in Cologne.

Jon Hiseman said “Despite many requests from fans and promoters over the past couple of decades, I never seriously considered reforming the original COLOSSEUM. But the release of all the albums on CD in the early 90’s was extremely successful and generated a lot of new interest in the band.

When Dave, Dick, Clem and Chris ganged up on me in 1993 it became clear there was no escape. A date was set and I found Mark in America and we all met up in my studio on June 17th 1994 and I gave the count in for “Those About To Die”. We played as if the band had never been apart”!



In the late 1960s, Colosseum were one of the first bands to mix jazz and rock together. However, that shouldn't deter you from trying this CD as they always veered towards the rockier side... it is a superb evocation of what the band was about.

The CD features half-a-dozen tracks from the barnstorming opener For Those About To Die and a new interpretation of Stormy Monday. A companion DVD contains a revamp of their Valentine Suite. *** Nigel Filby, Diss Express (August 2008)

The band really blends together well, with some great ensemble playing along with room for the musicians to show their wares too...This is a very good release from a much underrated band.

Bernard Law, Classic Rock Society (August 2008)

The performance is so polished it is difficult to believe this was only their second concert after 23 years...

Sound, picture and camera work are excellent and it is the next best thing to being there...

A great DVD for Colosseum fans and also for anyone interested in jazz/rock fusion of a very unique style.

Amplifier, Issue 99

Vocalist Chris Farlowe, saxist Dick Heckstall-Smith and drummer Hiseman are in particularly fine fettle throughout a highly musicianly set...

Kevin Bryan, Stirling Advertiser (and various regionals)

...seamless blend of blues, jazz and expansive prog-flavoured rock

Steve Caseman, RocknReel (October 2008)



Leave a Comment/Review